Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

When Does Pipeline Experience Pump Shutt-Off Pressure?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
22 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 go-fish

go-fish

Gold Member

• Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 10 February 2010 - 04:53 PM

Hi,

I am new to process systems design. I have a couple of fundamental questions:

1) When does a pipeline experience a pump shut-off condition?

2) I have 2 X 100% centrifugal pumps at the outlet of an atmospheric storage tank which pumps the fluid to another atm tank located at 20 m higher elevation. Pump differential is 4 bar and max. suction pressure is 1 barg. There is a block valve at the inlet of the second tank. What is the design pressure in different sections of this system?

Thanks

#2 S.AHMAD

S.AHMAD

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 786 posts

Posted 10 February 2010 - 11:15 PM

Hi

1. Pump shut-off normally considered when any downstream valves are closed. The valves can be block, check or control valves.

2. The spec break normally downstream of the last valve that is nearest to the downstream tank. However, for low system pressure we simplified by using one design pressure over the piping system. In your case use flange rating of 150# over the pipe length and determine the pipe thickness based on the corresponding maximum allowable pressure of the flange which is a function of temperature.

#3 go-fish

go-fish

Gold Member

• Members
  • 183 posts

Posted 11 February 2010 - 08:01 AM

Thanks for your reply.

In the P&IDs for multiple pumps in parallel, I also see spec break(if neccesary) or design code break upstream of pump suction block valve. Why do we consider this scenario?