Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Established Methods For Neutralizing Excess Ammonia

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Guest_Mattprole_*

Guest_Mattprole_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 18 May 2011 - 07:23 AM

Hello, this is my first post on these forums. I'm hoping someone can help me out.

I am a co-op student at a coal plant, and a supervisor of mine has requested my opinion on the best method to neutralize some excess aqueous ammonia. I have no experience with ammonia, so I am unsure how to proceed. Sulfuric acid in the form of 66 Baume (93% Acid by weight) would appear to be an economic choice for neutralizing ammonia, as we have some left over from a previous project. Acetic Acid has also been proposed as a potential neutralizing agent (and we are currently leaning towards Acetic Acid as the more environmentally safe option).

Ideally, upon application of the neutralizing agent we'd like the resultant solution to have a pH near 7 so as to be safe to discharge into river water.

If there are standard methods for neutralizing aqueous ammonia I'd certainly appreciate the info. Ideally I'd like to know what proportions / conditions are appropriate to facilitate complete reaction between the proposed acid and the excess ammonia.

Any information at all would be greatly appreciated.

Edit: