Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ion Exchange And Chromatography

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Jopeth

Jopeth

• Members
  • 21 posts

Posted 25 June 2011 - 07:44 AM

Hi there!

Name's Jopeth, a 5th year ChE student from the Philippines. I'm into plant design and I'm new to these unit operations: Ion exchange and Chromatography. On Ion exchange, my purpose of using this is to separate Na2SO4 from the sugar solution (xylose, arabinose, galactose, mannose, cellulose and xylan to be specific). I don't know how to create a mass balance around nit as it is unsteady state (efficiency is lowered at a time and accumulation follows, same as Chromatography to concenterate xylose from the solution. I'm planning to use dowex ion exchange resins. I've found a software but it's used only in water demineralization purposes. Our plant design is production of Xylitol from corn stover.

Attached herewith is the process flow diagram of our plant.

Any help will be greatly appreciated. thanks!

p.s. Ion exchange for the removal of Na2SO4 is labeled as salt removal.Attached File  242198_1886341331333_1625410695_1824142_7060452_o.jpg   190.54KB   24 downloads

#2 kkala

kkala

Gold Member

• Banned
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,939 posts

Posted 30 June 2011 - 04:07 PM