Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Reaction Conversion Rate Calculation

oxidation nitric oxide nitrogen monoxide conversion reaction dimerization

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Kjiel

Kjiel

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 13 October 2013 - 09:36 PM

Hi everybody,

This is my first post in this forum. Congratulations to everyone who keep this up. It's a pretty good resource to learn what we like.

Let me introduce myself. I'm a chemical engineer student in Spain and I'm working on the final project. It is a design project of a nitric acid production plant. I've been searching for months some data I'm interested in without succeed.

I need to calculate the conversion rate of the reaction NO + 1/2O2 -> NO2. Its a inusual reaction because it goes to the right faster at low temperature than at high temperature, below 150 º C there's practically a 100% of NO2 but I need to calculate the conversion rate of NO to NO2 in every heat exchanger where the stream of NO reduces its temperature. For example, the conversion rate of the stream from 925 ºC to 450 ºC (in this particular range of temperature there's barely formation of NO2 but anyway I have to do it), from 450 ºC to 250 ºC, etc. 

The best what I've found is this

Attached File  Sin título.png   58.79KB   1 downloads

But honestly, I don't know how to solve it.