Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Waste Heat Boiler Design

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
19 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Guest_morin_*

Guest_morin_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 09 March 2006 - 01:49 PM

I am in my final year and the title of my design project is Production of hydrogen using steam reforming. I am designing a waste heat boiler and i need information on how to start the design. can someone help? thanks in advance.

#2 aliadnan

aliadnan

Gold Member

• Members
  • 88 posts

Posted 10 March 2006 - 11:44 AM

Hi Morin

You have not provided the basic data in your query that from which stream your extracting heat(liauid or gas) and if your using this heat to convert water into steam, then what pressure steam your generating.
Waste Heat Boilers are nothing different than Shell and Tube Heat exchangers, in which the hot fluid exchanges heat from the cold fluid. Now what kind of Shell and Tube exchanger your using depends upon the process conditions.

There are basically two types of Waste Heat Boilers.(My discussion is based on Steam producing Boilers)

Water Tube Boilers: