Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Breathing Capacity Calc (Normal & Emergency)

calculation normal venting emergency venting

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Musab Ammad

Musab Ammad

• Members
  • 12 posts

Posted 07 November 2013 - 11:54 AM

Respected members,

I am a junior engineer and it was assigned to me that i calculate breathing capacities for PVRV's and emergency valves for 40 tanks(most of tanks were filled with fluids whom physical data and properties are not known or provided from client) and to verify vendor provided data to ensure that vendor quoted valve sizes & capacites are acceptable or not. I calculated breathing capacites as per API 2000 but i couldn't find any method to in API regarding valve sizing.

I continously follow this forum and learn alot always, in some of the threads it is mentioned that technical paper 410 is to be used for calculation of valve size etc etc. I still am unable to get the philosphy that how to utilize pressure drop function for valve sizing due to my lack of knowledge.

so after manually calculating the breathing capacities i thought to do these calculation in excel with my limited knowledge. During surfing internet i found a formula (stated below in red) but couldn't find any reference about this formula

kd =[ {(0.269906*(Outlet pressure/Inlet pressure)}^2-{0.751687*(outlet pressure / inlet pressure)+1.18178)}*0.95]

*outlet pressure/inlet pressure OR p2/p1 OR pressure ratio