Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

How To Insert Sodium Methylate Using Hypothetical In Hysys 3.2

hypothetical hysys sodium methylate biodiesel

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Brunorfa

Brunorfa

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 November 2013 - 08:31 AM

Hi everyone..I work at a Biodiesel industry and i'm trying to simulate the process. I use HYSYS 3.2 and i'm having trouble when I try to list the components...here we use sodium methylate as catalist (CH3ONa) and  i don't find the Na group on the hypothetical groups...

I'm starting now with HYSYS so I'm not an expert...anyone can help me with this issue?

#2 Brunorfa

Brunorfa

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 November 2013 - 11:13 AM

PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME

#3 Brunorfa

Brunorfa

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 26 November 2013 - 02:34 PM

up

#4 thorium90

thorium90

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,073 posts

Posted 27 November 2013 - 12:39 AM

You don't input the catalyst. You only need its properties. You input stuff like reactants and products.

#5 Brunorfa

Brunorfa

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 28 November 2013 - 06:33 AM

Thank u thorium90. So, I don't need to create a catalyst flow?? And there are two more question...I've created the soybean oil as a triolein but HYSYS shows that at that temperature the component is vapor, but it's not true. Can I modify the critical pressure by myself? And how I use 2 fluid packges in 2 different flows? I tryed to use NRTL and Peng-Robinson to another flow but it appears a "cutter" on the flow that I tryed to change the fluid package. Can u help me?

#6 thorium90

thorium90

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,073 posts