Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Fire Case Psv Design Conditions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 SandeepanGoswami

SandeepanGoswami

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 10 March 2014 - 12:42 AM

"PSV Design conditions:

Opinion-1: As a process engineer, design pressure = relieving pressure and design temperature = relieving temperature.

Opinion-2: Vendor understanding is that design pressure = relieving pressure and design temperature = process design temperature of the vessel on which is the PSV is mounted.

As a process engineer i think opinion-1 is correct as when a PSV pops it shall be emergency scenario and PSV is considered as a final safety device hence it should be designed to handle relieving pressure and relieving temperature."

Request all readers to share their views

Edited by Sandeepan, 10 March 2014 - 12:43 AM.

#2 aroon

aroon

Gold Member

• Members
  • 86 posts

Posted 10 March 2014 - 01:29 AM

Hi Sandeepan,

Don't mess with the terminology. Always try to understand the meaning of the terminologies as given in API 521 Section-3 (5th edition). As far as answer of your question, anyone can interpret your both options wrong.

For the sizing of particular scenario;

Relieving pressure = Set pressure of PSV + allowable overpressure (10%, 16%, or 21% of the set pressure)

10% ..... is for design contingencies with single PSV

16% ..... is for design contingencies with multiple PSVs

21% ..... is for fire contingencies irrespective of number of PSV present.