Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Main Flare Header, Pilot And Purge Flow Meters For A Burn Pit

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Vegeta

Vegeta

Gold Member

• Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 28 June 2014 - 10:13 AM

Hi all,

I am a new chemical engineering graduate and in my job  I was assigned for an assignment in a project to install flow meters in main flare header, pilot and purge lines going to a burn pit. Can you advice on what information I will need and what type of flow meter shall be installed?

Thank you for your time....

Regards,

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 28 June 2014 - 11:01 AM

Search for suppliers of such equipment. John Zink Company for example.

Bobby

#3 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,951 posts

Posted 28 June 2014 - 11:14 AM

Vegeta,

The most important info you should know to specify the flowmeter in flare system are average passing flare/purge gas properties and estimated min/max mass flowrate. The flowmeter type normally applied in flare system is ultrasonic one by using which there would be no obstruction or blockage in the line included such flowmeter...

#4 Vegeta

Vegeta

Gold Member

• Members
  • 131 posts

Posted 28 June 2014 - 02:09 PM

Thanks Guys,

Fallah, 

Is ultrasonic flow meter usually employed in purge and pilot lines or it is for the main header?

Again thanks,  

#5 farid.k

farid.k

Gold Member

• Members
  • 384 posts

Posted 28 June 2014 - 09:03 PM

Vegeta

Basically,

The type of flow instruments normally will be selected examining conditions such as :

1 -Required range for measurement