Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Reflux Condenser Without Accumulator?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 JamieG

JamieG

• Members
  • 17 posts

Posted 29 October 2014 - 09:35 PM

Hello - I am a process engineer working in specialty chemicals. I am installing two new distillation towers with associated equipment. The towers will both run under vacuum. One will run at 100 mmHg and the other at 20 mmHg. I have gone to Graham for condenser design as I understand that they are well suited for vacuum condenser design...they are also the most expensive. They have suggested that I consider using a hot-well or boot on the condensers in lieu of accumulators. They claim that it eliminates the need for sloping the piping to the accumulators (sloped to prevent inerts from accumulating) and also saves the cost of the accumulators. They also claim it to be a common practice.

My question is, have any of you encountered this design? Did it work well? I anticipate control issues due to size limitations of the hot-wells. One other point...reflux ratios are fairly small for both towers: ~1 - 2.

Thanks in advance for any help

#2 PingPong

PingPong

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 30 October 2014 - 05:26 AM