Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Calculation Caustic Injection Rate

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 aragorn

aragorn

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 29 December 2014 - 07:39 AM

Hi

I am a process engineer and work in crude distillation unit . can someone explain to me about the calculation of injection caustic flow rate in the feed ?

#2 P.K.Rao

P.K.Rao

Gold Member

• Members
  • 265 posts

Posted 29 December 2014 - 08:31 AM

Injection rate depends upon the salts present in the crude and efficiency of desalter removing salts and organic acidity of crude. Mostly magnesium chloride hydrolyzes giving volatile hydrochloric acid. Besides this, there would be volatile organic acids such as formic and acetic acids. You have to plan to maintain a pH of 6.5 to 7 of the overhead condensate. For this purpose, you have to doze caustic soda in crude to neutralize the acids till the pH of overhead condensate attains the .required value. A pH of  more than 7 is detrimental to condenser.  Ofcourse, corrosion inhibitor is also needed.  I have seen some refineries doze 4-6 ppm NaOH on crude..

Edited by P.K.Rao, 29 December 2014 - 09:00 AM.

#3 Himanshu Sharma

Himanshu Sharma

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 172 posts

Posted 30 December 2014 - 05:29 AM

Hey there !

Well this one is my favorite and if you are looking for a calculation i have none ,its just experience the hard way.

Caustic is often typically Injected directly in crude either upstream or downstream of Desalter and refiners have claimed to benefit from both of them,each has some specific advantage/disadvantages, at least in theory.