Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Column Bottom Temperature Profile

column deisobutaniser temperature temperature profile distillation column column configuration configuration

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 flangecoupling

flangecoupling

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 38 posts

Posted 14 January 2015 - 03:13 AM

Dear All,

I am studying deisobutaniser column in alkylation unit of a refinery. As I looked at the column bottom configuration / temperature profile in the documents the situation looked unusual, Following are my observations / queries.

1. Column bottom is baffled.

2. The liquid from the bottom tray is at around 160 deg C.

3. The reboiler outlet is at 186.3 deg C.

4. Reboiler inlet is at 173 deg C.

5. Bottom product is at 186.3 deg C.

The column bottom configuration is given in the attachment.

My queries are as follows

1. Query 01:

That even though the bottom product and reboiler outlet is at same temperature the composition of the reboiler outlet liquid and the bottom product is not same as per the H&MB document. How is this possible?.

1. Query 02:

After a long run the temperature of the bottom should come to saturation and bottom product and reboiler inlet should be at same temperature, but the H&MB shows different temperatures as mentioned above.

Attached Files

#2 shan

shan

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 692 posts

Posted 14 January 2015 - 08:53 AM

1.  The reboiler outlet stream is two phase flow with vapor and liquid.  The bottom product is one liquid phase flow only.  The bottom production composition should be identical with reboiler outlet stream liquid phase composition.