Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Pressure Drop Across A Closed Tee

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 tingyik90

tingyik90

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 February 2015 - 02:22 PM

Greetings,

I'm a graduate process engineer working in an O&G consultation firm currently. Doing pressure drop calculations of pipeline based on isometrics is almost a daily routine.

I have a question regarding pressure drop across a splitting Tee. While there are commonly published values of equivalent length pressure drop for flow across a Tee, is there any published materials regarding a splitting Tee with closed end?

Diagram:

A ------------> B

|

C

DEP standard includes the equivalent length to be considered for branch elbows and straight run, but my company spreadsheet also takes into account of the vol. flow ratio of each branch and also the diameter ratio of branch. (Sorry that I do not know the source of its formula.)

I do know that for flow from A-->B (a straight run), the pressure drop will be negligible if side C is closed (no flow), since you can intuitively think of it as a straight pipe. This is at least true from my company spreadsheet, K-value = 0. However, if the flow is from A-->C with side B closed, will there be significant pressure drop?