Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Queries Related To Compressor Capacity Control

compressor capacity control fixed step stepless unloader

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Kathari

Kathari

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 30 March 2015 - 01:02 AM

Greetings,

I am an undergraduate performing a project on improving the efficiency of a reciprocating compressor. The details of the compressor is attached in this post.

I have proposed an idea to improve the efficiency by replacing the existing capacity control system with a variable capacity control system. The company suggested a manufacture Hoerbiger which manufactures HydroCOM which is basically a electro hydraulic variable capacity control system. I have attached a presentation that the engineer gave me to study about it.

The compressor is a double acting 2 stage horizontally opposed (Duplex) compressor. Capacity control in existing system is a combination of Step control, Clearance pocket and recycle control.

There are 4 unloaders for each suction side and a clearance pocket.

for 100%,  All unloaders are loaded

for 75%, the clearance pocket placed at the head of each cylinder is unloaded

for 50%, the head side of cyl 1 and the crank side of cyl 2 is unloaded

for 0%, all the valves are unloaded.

Currently the required capacity is 31% and hence 19% is recycled back.

The idea of my project is that, by the proposed system, recycle control is eliminated and hence the efficiency can be improved.

I am having some trouble grasping the basic concepts of stepless control.