Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ammonia Plant Troubleshooting

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 trungphu

trungphu

Gold Member

• Members
  • 106 posts

Posted 08 May 2015 - 11:05 PM

Hello everyone,

I am a junior operator in an Ammonia plant . It's my pleasure to learn more about Ammonia plant operations from professionals in the forum. My question here is about protection of process air preheater. When the process air to sec. reformer is too low, an amount of protection steam will be admitted to the air preheat coil to protect it from overheating. In this case, what should we do to keep primary reformer and sec. reformer not being tripped?

Regards,

Trung Phu

Edited by trungphu, 08 May 2015 - 11:10 PM.

#2 Atttyub194

Atttyub194

Gold Member

• Members
  • 80 posts

Posted 10 May 2015 - 02:00 PM

Please elobrate your question and your intent

#3 Faisal Ghafoor

Faisal Ghafoor

• Members
  • 25 posts

Posted 11 May 2015 - 05:21 AM

some plants have low air flow security also tripping secondary reformer; means air cut to secondary reformer, and as a consequence back end also trips. To continue primary reformer operation, you need to take care of system pressure by giving of-set to system pressure vent valve and you also need to take care of steam system; steam let down stations should be opened smoothly to avoid low S/C ratio trip of Primary reformer.

#4 Satyajit

Satyajit

Gold Member

• Members
  • 87 posts

Posted 11 May 2015 - 04:41 PM   Best Answer

Hi Trung,

If I understand your question correctly, please see my response below.  I think you are talking of two things: