Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Temperature Cross Over In Shell And Tube Heat Exchanger

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
11 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Achal Gupta

Achal Gupta

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 06:10 AM

hello,

i am a student in second year and i am learning heat exchanger design in aspen plus. I have been facing problem of cross over in temperatures. My hot inlet is at 210 F and is leaving at 105 F. Cold inlet is at 95 F and is leaving at 115 F. I have tried increasing the outlet temperature of cold fluid....lowering the outlet cold temperature, but its not helping. Also i am confused in how to change the exchanger geometry. I am using 2-4 shell and tube type heat exchanger. Please help me.

Edited by Achal Gupta, 08 July 2015 - 08:57 AM.

#2 shan

shan

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 692 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 06:50 AM

It seems that you have the freedom to vary the outlet temperature of cold fluid.  If you specify the outlet temperature at 100 F, I am sure that you will resolve your heat exchanger temperature cross over problem.

#3 Achal Gupta

Achal Gupta

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 08:55 AM

hi shan

i am afraid to say it didnt solved the problem.....and i by mistake wrote something wrong i am rewritting the corrected version

I have tried increasing the outlet temperature of hot fluid....lowering the outlet cold temperature, but its not helping. 

Edited by Achal Gupta, 08 July 2015 - 08:57 AM.

#4 shan

shan

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 692 posts

Posted 08 July 2015 - 09:56 AM