Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Gtl Process Simulation

chemical reaction hysys

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Sarah_Process_engineer

Sarah_Process_engineer

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 34 posts

Posted 08 November 2015 - 02:03 AM

I am working on a GTL process modeling and simulation using the tri - reforming process. No I need to simulate the Fischer Tropsch reactor, but I blocked when I wanted to enter the reactions that can take place ( CO + H2 --> (-CH2-CH2-)n + H2O ). 
It would be very nice of you if someone could help me solve this problem since It's my first time dealing with reactors in Hysys Aspen. 

Thank you very much :)

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 08 November 2015 - 11:50 AM

Not many of us would undertake this chore. I suggest that you use a simple reactor model and define a set of reactions that produce the products typically formed. With this, you can then proceed to model the downstream portion of the process.

Bobby

#3 abubakarce19

abubakarce19

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 08 November 2015 - 02:10 PM

use gibbs reactor and check products at your reaction T & P. Than add reactions involving those products in conversion reactor, iff you know desired conversion %ages. Otherwise use equilibrium reactor.

#4 shantanuk100

shantanuk100

Gold Member

• Members
  • 104 posts

Posted 10 November 2015 - 04:10 AM

Hello Sarah,