Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Using Aspen Software To Model Tank Emptying

aspen decanting transient

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 bridgerlady

bridgerlady

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 09 November 2015 - 08:12 AM

Good morning community,

I am a current Undergraduate student, and I am working with Aspen Plus to model the emptying of a full tank. To my knowledge, Aspen Plus is used to determine steady state calculations. However, the process I would like to model is transient. I am looking to analyze the temperature and the pressure inside the tank as it empties at a specified flow rate and pressure. Is there a way to use Aspen Plus to attain transient data? In this process, a tank needs to be filled, flow to the tank needs to be shut off, and then an outlet valve needs to be opened.

Regards

#2 Lucian Gomoescu

Lucian Gomoescu

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 44 posts

Posted 09 November 2015 - 12:33 PM

Hello,

You can export the file from Aspen Plus with Aspen Dynamics format.

You may follow these steps:

1. Go to Data Browser>Setup>Specifications and change Input mode to "Dynamic".

2. Define the streams and for the tank (separator block) go to Dynamic>Vessel and change type "instantaneous" with "vertical" or "horizontal" and insert its dimensions.

3. Go to tank Input>Specifications and choose Pressure and Heat Duty (at least this is what i understood from your topic).

4. Run the simulation. You can make a dynamic simulation only after the run is succesful.