Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Acid Gas Sweetening In Hysys V8.6

amine acid gas h2s hysys

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 NikkiC

NikkiC

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 07 January 2016 - 11:25 PM

Hello!

I am new to the whole amine system, so this might turn out to be a really long discussion for way too many things! But hopefully, in the end, somebody will find this post interesting and helpful.

Now, my company is trying to find ways to optimize MDEA units, which serve to remove H2S from many different sources in a refinery, including recycle H2, offgas, LPG, etc. Based on my background research, I've found that the presence of heat stable salts (HSS) is usually a serious problem in the amine systems, and that its concentration can actually affect the absorption in both positive and negative ways. What I'm trying to do right now is to simulate the effect of HSS in HYSYS v8.6 with the new Acid Gas package. 

I am starting with the samples provided by HYSYS (more specifically, "Effect of Heat Stable Salt on Acid Gas Cleaning using MDEA"), and try to understand how to construct that simulation properly. Here are my questions:

1. It looks like the concentrations of HSS are constant throughout the columns. But I thought they should be the products from certain reactions that occurred inside the absorber (for the most part)? The purge stream in the sample is pure water, so essentially the sample process doesn't remove reactive products from the aqueous phase.