Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Thermal Relief Valve

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
25 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 CheAmine

CheAmine

• Members
  • 26 posts

Posted 08 February 2016 - 04:52 AM

Hello everyone,

My name is Amine and I am a junior process engineer working in an oil and gas field. This is my first topic in Cheresources.

We have a thermal relief valve located in a propane line used for refrigeration purposes set at a pressure of 29 barg. I would like to know the temperature at which the pressure will reach 29 barg in case the upstream and downstream valve gets closed.

I have done HYSYS simulation and I have considered the vapor phase fraction to be 0 and the pressure to be 29 barg. Based on these conditions, the temperature was found to be 77 C. However, as per the data sheet of the relieiving temperature is 18 C.

Could you please let me know the reason of the difference between the two results. Moreover, what is the exact meaning of the relieving temperature.

Thank you.

#2 manojkaila

manojkaila

Gold Member

• Members
  • 66 posts

Posted 08 February 2016 - 06:05 AM

Dear,

Propane is light hydrocarbon so when during thermal release the upstream and down stream pressure there are pressure difference. Outlet pressure or downstream of the PSV always very less. This lower pressure create partial vaporization of propane and it will absorb the latent heat from the surrounding. This phenomena create low pressure. Hope this will help. My experience is from operation side others friends from design background will give more details about HYSIS.

Good luck

Manoj 

#3 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,954 posts