Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Pressure Reduction From 200Bar To 10Bar

pressure reducing valve pressure vessels drop pressure drop

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
8 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 PhillipLow

PhillipLow

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 28 August 2016 - 12:23 PM

Hi Guys,

I am a student from Monash University and I have a question regarding to my design project.

Currently my team is building a Oleochemical Plant that major in C16 and C18 fatty alcohol.
I am responsible for the part after hydrogenation reactor.

According to the information, two phase mixture which consist of H2,C16 and C18 fatty alcohol, hydrocarbon, methanol and trace amount of water is transferred to a separator to remove H2.

The two phase mixture is flowing in the pipeline with 200barg and 250 degree C. 

Questions

What is the device to reduce the pressure and temperature of the two phase mixture? 

I am planning to use a Pressure Reducing Valve to reduce the pressure to 10 barg in order to enter my knock out drum but do anyone know the calculation of PRV? or should I just follow the specification of vendor from the websites.

I also planned to use a heat exchanger to reduce the pressure but what is the formula to calculate the energy consumption for two phase mixture in the  heat exchanger?

#2 Saml

Saml

Gold Member

• Members
  • 301 posts

Posted 28 August 2016 - 05:14 PM

Phillip, 

As far as I see (I've been following these forums for serveral years, and just recently decided to suscribe), people is willing to help grade students with their projects if they show they've done  their own research and are stuck in a difficult detail.