Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

How To Calculate Volume Of A Gas To Raise Pressure In Pipeline

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 quangkhoa90

quangkhoa90

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 23 October 2016 - 03:37 AM

Hello,

I am a junior process engineer. I would like to calculate the volume of a gas to raise pressure in a pipeline by 1 bar. Please help me out.

The stream at outlet of compressor 1 is about 30 kSm3/h at 46 bar and 45°C, refer to the attached file for the stream composition. This stream is sent to compressor 2 to compress to 70 bar. The pipeline between these 2 compressors is 50m in length and 10" in diameter.

When the compressor 2 shuts off, pressure will raise up at downstream of compressor 1, this may cause shutdown of equipment due to high outlet pressure.

In this case, I would like to figure out how long will it take to raise pressure at downstream of compressor 1 by one bar, or reach the PSHH at 55 bar.

Thank you in advance 

Attached Files

Edited by quangkhoa90, 23 October 2016 - 03:41 AM.

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 23 October 2016 - 09:09 AM

To get the best estimate you must perform a dynamic simulation. But why is this important?

Bobby

#3 quangkhoa90

quangkhoa90

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 24 October 2016 - 01:42 AM

I would like to install a pipeline at downstream of compressor 1, in order to prevent the pressure from building up at outlet of this compressor.

I performed calculation to estimate the time needed to raise pressure from 45 barg to 50 barg as below: