Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ammonia - Water Gas Absorption Problem

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 SarahChemmy

SarahChemmy

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 November 2016 - 12:15 PM

Hi guys, first post so be kind. 

I'm currently studying Gas absorption and I'm stuck on a particular question. 

A gas stream containing 5 mol% Ammonia (NH3) in Air is to be passed to a packed absorption column at a rate of 10 kg.s-1 . The column is to use Water (H2O) as the solvent to reduce the ammonia content in the air leaving the column to 0.01 mol%. The gas and water streams can be assumed to be at 25 °C. The column operates at 1 bar pressure.

What is the minimum liquid flow rate and the liquid rate of solvent under normal operating conditions?

H = 1.3

Kg = 200 × 10^−6 kmol.m^-2 .s^-1

separation using 1 inch Berl Saddles

I assume I will have to make an initial guess for the flow rate of the solvent?

Can I get some guidance for this question please? I'm really stuck and there's not much study material for this topic online.

Thanks

Sarah

#2 SarahChemmy

SarahChemmy

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 7 posts

Posted 09 November 2016 - 03:31 PM

bump? :(

#3 Saml

Saml

Gold Member

• Members
  • 301 posts

Posted 09 November 2016 - 05:41 PM

It would be unfair to give you an answer. I would do your work (I don't want to), and you would not learn (I hope you want to learn), and what is most important, if you don't grasp the concepts of absorption, you will have a very hard time understanding distillation later on.

But what can be done is to point you to different information.