Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Vacuum Distillation Column: Design And Control

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
39 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 merac

merac

Veteran Member

• Members
  • 39 posts

Posted 04 June 2007 - 04:50 AM

Hi
I'm a spanish student who is doing the Final degree project and I have a vacuum distillation column (0,2 bar) in my process and I have some doubts related to its design and control:
-CONTROL: 1. what are the options to control pressure?
-DESIGN: 2. what type of reboiler should I use?
3. what are the main important design points in order to assure a good operation of the column?

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 04 June 2007 - 07:00 AM

Merac:
  1. Depending on what you are doing (you haven’t furnished any basic data or scope of work) the normal or conventional way to control the column pressure is by establishing the vapor pressure at the top of the column. This is done with the vacuum level.
  2. You can use almost any type you desire. I’ve used both thermosyphon (AEM) and kettle (BKU) with success.
  3. The main important point s are many. It would take a book to describe them. Please be specific in stating precisely just what it is that is troubling you or makes you feel uncomfortable or insecure in design the column. That way, we can get directly to the points that need to be addressed for your benefit and understanding. For example, are you referring to process design points or mechanical design points – or to both? There are books written on this subject and literally thousands of journal and magazine articles in the literature.