Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Help Finding Diagrams

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 bapo

bapo

Brand New Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 3 posts

Posted 05 March 2008 - 08:09 PM

Hello all i'm new to this site. i am a third year chemical engineer at curtin university in perth australia. For one of my assignments we have been told to find a process flow diagram or preferably overall P&ID for ethylene production. I've searched all over the net and in the library here but haven't been able to find any. If anyone can point me in the right direction to find one with a bit of info on it that would be really helpful.
Any help appreciated
Bapo

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 05 March 2008 - 08:22 PM

bapo:

If someone (especially an instructor) told you to go find a P&ID for the production of ethylene, he/she is not leveling with you and sending you off on a wild goose chase.

Even if you return with a real P&ID to the classroom, the chances are that it is not a legal copy or that it has been stolen. No engineering company or contractor is going to allow their P&ID to be distributed to the public - especially through the InterNet. That's the fastest and easiest way to give away all the technology that you worked and sweated to accomplish.

If you were really asked to do that, you have been asked to do something that is very close to being un-ethical --- and that's not teaching engineering. That's teaching pirating technology.

What a chemical engineering instructor is supposed to teach you is how to GENERATE a P&ID yourself, not take it from someone else.