Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

How To Design A Filter

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Bashir

Bashir

• Members
  • 11 posts

Posted 25 April 2008 - 09:53 AM

Hello every body
I really need your help in fact that I am not an engineer. so please if anyone of you has knowledge about my concern so please help me to solve my questions.
I will start doing a work about Floating media filter and will use a polymer beads as a media for my filter

At the moment I am busy doing some caracterization analysis of some particles which will be tested on the filter next step.

will give u some more information concerning my work.

What I want to do is test some different polymer beads and see if have an effect or not of removing some contamminates.. I am intersted to remove the turbidity and suspended solids and the colour from the water.. I will work with a specific feed water ( not sewage or biological concern )..

in my future work ( in 6 months time ) I might do experiment ( test the beads ) on a big fliter which will be somewhere on Water treatment plant..

But at the moment to test a small amount of beads ( such as 2 or 3 kg ) I need to design a small filter...

1- could you give me a diagram with the main things that i need it beside the body filter itself.. such as pump..may be flowmeter, and how to measure the velocity ahow to add a coagulation. and how we connect all of these tools with filter ?
2- If i need to measure the void of my beads.. so how can i do a simple experiment ?
3- is it important to take the pressure drop into account while the filter is working and how to measure the pressure head ( head loss)