Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Distillation Column Design

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
4 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

• guestGuests
  • 0 posts

Posted 11 December 2008 - 06:10 AM

Dear all,

I am a Mechanical Engineering student from Alexandria University, Egypt.
I'm working on my final year project.
The project is a design of selected units of a third generation oil refinery.
My task is to completely design an atmospheric crude distillation column.

Please correct me if I’m wrong
First I need to know the assay of the crude that will be separated.
2nd Calculating the theoretical number of trays, feed tray and min. reflux ratio.
3rd Calculating the diameter of the column and tray spacing.

I have the crude assay, I know how to calculate the theoretical number of trays for a binary mixture (McCabe Thiele method) but not to a multi-component mixture.
Could any one tell me what to do or read?
Because i really don't know what to do.

Thanks for your concern,

Ahmed Ashraf

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 11 December 2008 - 08:14 AM

Ahmed:

Unless you already have some Chemical Engineering courses in Unit Operations under your belt, I don't believe you are going to even understand what is going on with respect to the calculation of a multi-component distillation process design.

This type of design is done by computer and not by hand-calculated methods.