Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Need Help With Reactor Sizing

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Villis

Villis

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 4 posts

Posted 18 March 2010 - 04:25 PM

Hello all!
I'm glad that i just joined your community!
I'm really looking forward to help and to get helped.
Well, this is my first question...
I am a student in chemical engineering and i have to make a feasibility study on an ethylene oxide production plant. The method we use is the direct oxidation process which involves a reaction of ethylene with air on a silver/alumina catalyst. I have a problem with the reactor sizing and i really can't find any solution. The data that were given/calculated to/by me are: the volumetric flow (Q=8,44 m/s), the LMTD (LMTD=79,4), the porosity (ε=0,4), the heat exchange surface (A=2168,9), the overall heat transfer coefficient (U=176 J/(s x m^2 x K) ) the residence time (tr=6 sec), the selectivity (S=6) and the %conversion of ethylene (=20%). I have to calculate the number of the tubes, the tube and the shell diameter and the catalyst and the reactor's volume.
Well, the first thing i thought was to calculate the reactor's volume from the equation Vr (reactor's volume) = tr (residence time) x Q (volumetric flow). Is that correct?
I also tried to assume a tube diameter (d) and a tube length (L) and find the tube number from the equation: A= Ν x pi x d x L
Right after that, i can calculate the tube volume (where the reaction mix is) through the equation: V=N x pi x L x(d^2)/4