Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Shell And Tube Condenser Design

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
21 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Guest_kayrichardson_*

Guest_kayrichardson_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 05 March 2012 - 10:07 PM

I am a third year student of chemical engineering. I am trying to design a shell and tube condenser for the purpose of reducing the amount of water in the waste gases coming from two furnaces. The non-condensables gases will then be transferred into the NOx abatement. Can anyone help me with this design using excel spreads hit. The information required as stated below. The waste gases from both furnaces are going into the condenser at 500 C and leaving at 20C. The design project is about separating americium from plutonium oxide. The first part of my report is in the attached files which contains the mass and the energy balance

The waste gases from the furnaces are run through a condenser to reduce the amount of water that enters the NOx abatement stage. The incondensibles and a small amount of water that remains in the vapour are then passed on to NOx abatement. The water that is condensed can simply be discharged, as it will contain minimal contaminants.

Attached Files

#2 Guest_kayrichardson_*

Guest_kayrichardson_*
  • guestGuests

Posted 05 March 2012 - 10:23 PM

I have also attached the document (2) for the mass and energy balance for this shell and tube condenser design. I have a deadline. Can someone please help

Attached Files

#3 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 05 March 2012 - 10:47 PM

Kay: