Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Chlorine Disinfection Questions

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
1 reply to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 KEML

KEML

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 April 2016 - 08:02 AM

I want to use the Levenspiel Plot to size chlorine disinfection tanks for CSTR and PFR, but I don't really understand what I'm doing and my lecturer was no help. I'm an enviro eng student so some of this chemistry stuff is a bit confusing as we only do bits and peices of it. I haven't been able to find a worked through example that applies to water disinfection.

Here is the process I want to apply:

http://ocw.mit.edu/c..._03072007_w.pdf

But I'm not sure what -rA is?

Is it just the reaction rate? I've assumed a k value of 2 per hour. Is this the same thing as rA?

And is XA the ratio of chlorine that has reacted to the initial chlorine?

How does XA and -rA relate to CT and k? If someone could explain those first 2 equations in the link relating to disinfection that would be super awesome.

Is there a way to actually calculate k without experimental data? I couldn't find any raw experimental data for residual chlorine decay that I could use to calculate k. I've just used 2 per hour because a couple of text book questions assumed that value, I would like something that has a bit more justification behind it but I can't seem to find anything.

Also we were given a CT value for 3log removal of Giardia and a target free residual chlorine value. So using this I was able to calculate dosages of chlorine and basic tanks volumes for PFR and CSTR.