Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Cooling A Process Stream To Sub-Zero Temperatures

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 kemisage

kemisage

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 09:33 AM

Hi all,

I am a fourth-year undergraduate student. I am currently taking my Process Design course. I have a carbon dioxide stream (at about 17.5 psia and room temperature) with some water (~2.6 mol%) and nitrogen (<0.2mol%) as impurities. I am trying to remove water (as much as possible). I decided to go for a flash separator operating at the process pressure but I was able to obtain satisfactory separation only at around -70 F.

1. Do these conditions for a flash seem practical in the industry?

2. How can I cool my CO2 stream to a temperature that low? Do I use a refrigerant? 

Thank you for your response.

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 10 April 2017 - 11:27 AM

Wrong choice. Carbon dioxide and water will form a hydrate at much higher temperature. So you should consider some other alternative. And refrigeration for such low temperature is quite expensive. Normal practice is to use glycol or solid desiccants for drying.

Bobby

#3 kemisage

kemisage

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 11 April 2017 - 10:05 AM

Hi Bobby,

I feel so stupid that I forgot about the hydrate formation. I just realized that the simulator didn't have any binary interaction parameters for CO2 and water; it was giving me wrong results! Thank you so much for your response.