Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Gas Treating Plant Optimization

optimizationmodelinghysys oil and gas simulation gas treating process

14 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 processengineer1989

processengineer1989

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 December 2017 - 01:09 AM

Hello everybody.

I'm a fresh process engineer, and I'm trying to optimize a gas treating plant and find new parameters for a better condensate and gas recovery.

My question is how should I proceed?  I'm willing to use HySys and Excel as tools but I definitely have the intention to change the parameters randomly until I have a good result.  The problem is the plant is so complicated and I assume there's a better method to proceed.

Please help!

Thank you so much.

S.B

Attached Files

Edited by processengineer1989, 25 December 2017 - 09:13 AM.

#2 serra

serra

Gold Member

• Members
  • 310 posts

Posted 14 December 2017 - 02:11 AM

perhaps the minimizers available in Excel are not the best tools for that application,
working with Excel I prefer a library (Prode Properties) as discussed in many threads here,
anyway, you should define your goal (for example minimum costs, maximum product etc.)
some parameters to vary and run a minimizer (or the inverse which is the same) to identify the best solution.
With prode I have used both Mathcad and Matlab which include more powerful tools than Excel,
also consider the tools already available in your simulator.

#3 processengineer1989

processengineer1989

• Members
  • 20 posts

Posted 14 December 2017 - 02:28 AM

Goal: Maximise condensate recovery, that's the main one!!

after that comes: minimise fuel gas comsumption!

#4 serra

serra

Gold Member

• Members
  • 310 posts