Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Tsa Natural Gas Dehydration Unit – Regeneration Gas Loop Design

tsa natural gas dehydration

3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 svetor

svetor

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 28 May 2020 - 07:33 AM

Dear Gents,

I’m a chemical engineer, trying to understand the potential effect of changing regeneration gas loop design configuration on overall TSA mole sieve unit energy efficiency for sweet natural gas dehydration service (DHU).

In a typical two-tower TSA DHU, one has two basic options for organizing his regeneration loop (using the same gas):

• Regeneration gas is a slip stream (typically 10-15%) of dry treated gas driven by means of regeneration compressor, and sent back to the feed (open loop type 1) – used to obtain very low dew points of NG;
  • Regeneration gas is a slip stream (typically 10-15%) of wet DHU feed gas driven by means of regeneration compressor, and sent back to the feed (open loop type 2) – used to obtain low & moderate dew points of NG.

Both types of heating & cooling cycles are extensively discussed in literature, but there is a third type, of which little practical studies can be found:

• Regeneration heating & cooling cycles are performed by recirculating (by means of regeneration compressor) the same portion of spent regeneration gas to the inlet of the adsorbent bed that is being regenerated (closed-loop).

Little attention has been paid to this specific case of regeneration loop design on this forum, except for one useful thread which proposed such regeneration loop design for selective adsorption of CO2 in the supercritical state:

https://www.cheresou...ut-an-air-flow/