Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Beyond Final Boiling Point

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
10 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 roychua

roychua

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 January 2009 - 07:59 PM

Hi, I am new to the oil industry, and there are some help I need on crude oil specifications.
I have received a description of a blended crude / fuel oil, that has a IBP of 50 celsius and FBP of 360 celsius.

This is something new to me, because the other specifications I have received, have FBP in the range of 500 celsius and above, which makes me wonder about what happens after the oil has been boiled at a temperature higher than its FBP in a distillation process?

Is the resultant oil (heated at above its FBP) still in liquid state?
And, am I right to say that the oil will no longer boil but it can and it will only crack after it has reached its FBP?

If a oil's FBP is at 360 celsius, can I continue a distillation test beyond 360c ?

Thank you!

#2 Qalander (Chem)

Qalander (Chem)

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 829 posts

Posted 20 January 2009 - 12:31 AM

Dear roychua Hello/Good Morning,

I assume your query relates to Vaccum distillation aspect; since beyond certain temperatures (usually above 360~365 degrees celsius) Atmospheric distillation residues cracking starts and coke, as well as smaller chain cracked/ unsaturated lighter H-C fractions, get generated.

This is a general reply, since your query has been 'unclear'.

Hope this helps
Regards
Qalander

#3 djack77494

djack77494

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 1,282 posts

Posted 20 January 2009 - 08:49 AM