Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Heat Loss From Fluid Flowing Through Uninsulated Pipe

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
26 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 process85

process85

• Members
  • 19 posts

Posted 05 August 2008 - 11:18 AM

Hi everybody

This is my first time in this forum.
I have a problem. During detailed engineering I did not apply heat conservation to a pipe which is used to heat a fluid.

I need to find out reduction in temperature during cold days when ambient temperature is expected upto 15 degC.

I am attaching the whole scenario and my analysis. Please help me find find the temperature at the inlet of exchanger.

Attached Files

#2 ankur2061

ankur2061

Gold Member

• Forum Moderator
  • 2,484 posts

Posted 05 August 2008 - 02:10 PM

Process85,

First of all I cannot understand your logic of not having any insulation on a 500 m length piping with a process temperature of 220 deg C. This is certainly not good engineering practice. You definitely need to provide heat conservation insulation. To me, providing insulation doesn't seem to be such a big problem. The heat loss calculation for insulated pipe is calculated as follows:

q/l = 2.PI*Km*delta T / Ln (Do/Di)

where

q/l = heat loss in Btu/h/ft

Km = Thermal conductivity of insulation material, Btu/ft*h*degF @ avg temperature

delta T = Process Temperature, deg F - Acceptable Surface Temp at top of insulation cladding, deg F
(Note: In your case process temp is 220 deg C or 428 deg F. An acceptable surface temperature would be 49 deg C or 120 deg F. However, the end user can decide the surface temperature at the insulation cladding surface).