Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

SO2 Removal From Flue Gas

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
14 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 prateek1991

prateek1991

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 12 June 2012 - 11:59 PM

hello guys

i am a student.. i have been asked to design a caustic scrubber system to purify a flue gas so that the final amount of so2 in d flue gas can be reduced to 50mg/nm3 h2...
i hv to solve it through aspen plus.. i have tried to find a lot on google about the same bt i am not able to find much about this process.. maximum data available is by using lime/limestone as the reagent...
i need to know the basic layout of the process as in what components will be installed in the process... what all reactions will take place.. and the basic theory of the process.. so that i can start my work over the simulation...

#2 Shivshankar

Shivshankar

Gold Member

• Members
  • 257 posts

Posted 13 June 2012 - 01:35 AM

Prateek,

The topic can be found in below book
CONTROL OF POLLUTANTS IN FLUE GASES AND FUEL GASES
by Ron Zevenhoven & Pia Kilpinen

http://users.abo.fi/...ho/SulphOH1.PDF
http://users.abo.fi/...ho/SulphOH2.PDF

Regards
Shivshankar

#3 prateek1991

prateek1991

• Members
  • 10 posts

Posted 17 June 2012 - 10:41 PM

hi shivshankar...

m glad that u r tryng to help me.. but i couldnt find what i was asking in the link that u have posted..
the above link describes the process for sulphur dioxide treatment using lime/limestone. it just has brief things aboutcaustic scrubbber technique... i would need more detailed data than this... if you could help me than it would be great...

thanks
prateek

#4 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin