Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Calculating Temperature Of Material From Kiln Heat Balance?

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 6chemprocess

6chemprocess

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 02 January 2015 - 08:47 AM

Dear Experts

I am new to this process engineers forum. 

I am currently working on a mass and energy balance for a calcite type limestone rotary kiln with preheating tower. In the past, I did material-heat balances to calculate heat loss, unknown quantities. But  I  never done a M&E to calculate the unknown temperature. I am looking forward to seek some help to determine the methodology to calculate temperature of solid material from heat balance calculations.

I have attached a simple block diagram with parameters for your reference.

My main objective is to estimate the temperature of lime stone entering into the kiln from pre-heater & temperature of air entering the kiln.

In our plant, we don't have facility to take sample out of tower or no sample point between kiln and pre-heater.

So rate of conversion inside pre-heater is unknown and also the temperature of solid material,composition is unknown.

Please let me know if I can really find out of temperature of solid materials from heat balance. It looks like there are more unknowns than equations. 

It would be great if an expert can give me the methodology to solve the unknowns.

Unknowns:

1. Temperature of material coming out of kiln to cooler (solid material not gas) ?

2. Secondary air temperature above cooler and below burner is unknown?