Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ethylene From Ethanol

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
6 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Ron J

Ron J

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 6 posts

Posted 30 December 2008 - 11:07 PM

Hello everyone,

Im a final year student. My group and I are doing a design project to design an ethylene plant, however we are producing it from the dehydration of ethanol. The first part of the design is to produce ethanol from fermentation of molasses and banana mash, and we are fine up to the point where we produce 99.5% pure ethanol from molecular sieves.

The next part of the plant however, is to produce ethylene from this ethanol by dehydration process. We have tried finding infomation for the dehydration process in industries but cannot find anything online. We only found bits and pieces of information that we've tried to put together.

We would greatly appreciate it if anyone can tell us where we can find information on this process, like a process description, process flow diagram (PFD), and kinetic data, temperatures and pressures.

Also...just out of curiousity, is there any particular reason why there is no information on this process...other than ethanol is worth more, or ethylene from natural gas is cheaper.

#2 gvdlans

gvdlans

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 619 posts

Posted 31 December 2008 - 03:40 AM

QUOTE (Ron J @ Dec 31 2008, 06:07 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Also...just out of curiousity, is there any particular reason why there is no information on this process...other than ethanol is worth more, or ethylene from natural gas is cheaper.