Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Safe Cost Effective Venting For 55 Gallon Drums

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
3 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 mariona

mariona

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 24 January 2011 - 03:49 PM

I’ve read many of the postings about relief valves for drums and didn’t find the answers that I’m looking for. If I missed something already available please forgive me I’m new to this forum. I’m a chemical engineer newly transitioning from semiconductor processing to bulk chemical industry.

I want a safe system for venting 55 gallon drums of methanol in indoor use. This is in an R&D setting. The maximum total quantity on hand would be 200 gallons; industrial grade warehouse with sprinklers. Is there a safe way to provide necessary ventilation without introducing water into the drums, and preferably without allowing continual methanol evaporation to the atmosphere, that be implemented at low cost?

The planned use would be 2 passive drums and 1 active drum. The drum openings are fitted with 2” threaded and 3/8” threaded connections and arrive with caps. The chemical supplier leaves headroom to accommodate normal expansion of the methanol at room temperature. The active drum would dispense at a rate of 0.2 gallon per minute. I’ve read postings in favor of the nitrogen blanketing, and references to API 2000 and NFPA 30, which I have not got copies of. Is it still recommended for such a small system?