Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Why Chemical Dosing Tanks Are Horizontal

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 milankamat

milankamat

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 19 September 2016 - 03:07 AM

Dear all,

I am a project engineer. Recently, in one of our brownfield EPC project, we were contemplating installation of chemical dosing tanks ( 3 m dia x 4 m length) in a vertical configuration, as there was a space limitation. We were prepared to 

bear all the costs related to increased shelter height on account of the vertical configuration.

The client flatly refused and stated that as per good engineering practice; the dosing tanks have to be horizontal.

We, the EPC contractors, had no option but to negotiate and purchase small portion of land from the adjoining organisation (in order to accommodate the horizontal tanks) ;as the locations of the tanks on the approved congested plot plan was at the edge of the plot

For my academic knowledge, I hereby request the forum members to please advise me the reasons for having the dosing tanks in a hoizontal configuration.

Thank you.

#2 fallah

fallah

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 4,930 posts

Posted 19 September 2016 - 04:04 AM

Hi,

As far as I know, there is no specific criteria to select the horizontal/vertical configuration for the tanks of chemical dosing. Please ask the client to provide a valid reference in which it's shown the horizontal configuration is preferable...

#3 milankamat

milankamat

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 2 posts

Posted 20 September 2016 - 08:23 AM

Dear Fallah,

Thanks for your reply

This project was in middle east.