Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Vacuum Distillation

steam ejectors pressure increase

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
2 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 Tara97

Tara97

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 18 March 2017 - 02:47 PM

Hello, 

I'm a first year ChemEng student and I'm writing a report about vacuum distillation (just general stuff: how it works; how you decrease pressure, etc). I'm using a steam ejector to decrease presure in the column, but I am unsure about it's location. Is it supposed to be inside the column? And where exactly? 

There are 3 vacuum columns in the process and are we supposed to increse pressure of the bottom product before it enters the next column to minimize the impact of external pressure on the pipes and then secrease the pressure again inside the next column?

Thank you!!!

Tara

#2 breizh

breizh

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 6,327 posts

Posted 18 March 2017 - 06:07 PM

hi Tara,

I've attached documents to support your work.

hope this helps

Breizh

Edited by breizh, 19 March 2017 - 03:55 AM.

#3 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 19 March 2017 - 10:25 PM

Tara:

I am concerned that as a 1st year Chemical Engineering student you are setting out to write a paper that “reports” on the subject of vacuum distillation.  My concern is based on the manner in which you relate to what you don’t know about the subject at hand.