Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Pump Piping Straight Run Origin

11 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 shvet1

shvet1

Gold Member

• Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 04:05 AM

Good day, forum

As we know there are a lot of documents that define pump upstream and downstream piping (please expand the list if you know more):
- ANSI/HI 9.6.6
- API 686
- CEN/TR 13932

All of these documents state that any pump shall have proper inlet and outlet piping geometry to work properly. All this is Ok and well understood. My question is - what will happen if I don't follow one of these document? Let's say suction pipe slope, gas pockets and straight run. I'm not a young engineer and understand that fotos of eroded impeller and vibrating bearings are not so terrible if fotos were made after 10-20 years of nonstop work. 2 months and 2 years online is a big difference. Can you share a good report, survey or research which states why proper piping is so important and what consequence are?

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 31 August 2017 - 06:29 PM

Why not install piping correctly?

Bobby

#3 shvet1

shvet1

Gold Member

• Members
  • 341 posts

Posted 01 September 2017 - 12:31 AM

Because vendor has already installed improper pump skid. See fotos.

Edited by shvet1, 01 September 2017 - 02:00 AM.

#4 Pilesar

Pilesar

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,380 posts

Posted 01 September 2017 - 12:48 PM