Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

- - - - -

Ethanol/water Enthalpy Calulation

5 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 newzeadan

newzeadan

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 3 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 01:39 PM

I am trying to understand a mass balance sheet for an ethanol plant.  Looking at the beer column overhead vapor here's the original conditions:

flow   80,064 lb/hr

vapor mole frac. 1

mass fractions:

-water 0.44125

-ethanol  0.595875

Enthalpy   -287.43 MMBtu/h 

Temp   229.3166F

Press   30.2286 psia

I'm not a chemical engineer, so having a little trouble understanding the enthalpy value.  

I'm using NIST Refprop software, and for that same mixture at that temperature and pressure their enthalpy value for vapor phase is 696.99 btu/lbm

multiply that by the flowrate and i'm getting 55.8MMBtu/h.

I'm sure I'm missing some fundamental principle, but i'm stumped as to why it's a negative value and so much more than what i'm coming up with. 

Any help is greatly appreciated.  Thanks!    

#2 PingPong

PingPong

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,446 posts

Posted 12 January 2018 - 01:54 PM

The enthalpy of a stream has no real meaning as it depends on the basis (reference state) that was used to calculate that enthalpy. Different sources or software use a different basis and therefor come with different enthalpy values for streams.

What matters in enthalpy calculations of a distillation column is always the enthalpy difference at different temperatures or phases and that is not affected by the basis.

For example: the duty of the column condenser is equal to the difference between the enthalpy of the overhead vapour into and enthalpy of the vapour plus liquid out of the condensor.

#3 newzeadan