Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Simulation Cannot Predict Heavy Products

atmospheric hysys pitch reduced crude topped crude oil distillation refining

13 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 tgugcl

tgugcl

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 8 posts

Posted 22 March 2018 - 04:24 PM

Hello, 

I work as a process engineer in a refinery. We are trying to extend and improve our current atmosferic and vacuum tower simulations with HYSYS. 

We have been able to predict and compare the volumetric performance of our model with the the real data of our plant. So far the model's volumetric flows fall within 0.4 or 2% error for almost all the products (list below)

Unfortunately we have not been able to reconcile the performance of ours heavy products (Pitch and Topped crude oil). They both have an error of 4% 

LPG

Gasoline

Naftha
Kerosene

Diesel
AGO

HGO

LGO

Pitch

Topped crude oil 

As expected, when we arbitrarily raise the temperature of the inlet (fresh) crude to the atmosferic tower, the heavy product's performance seems to show a better agreement with operational data. 

Is this error acceptable? What could be the problem and how can it be fixed? 

Any help is welcomed =) 

Thank you very much

Edited by tgugcl, 22 March 2018 - 04:27 PM.

#2 Nikolay_

Nikolay_

Gold Member

• Members
  • 162 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 01:52 AM

Hello,

You can use back blending to get feed stream. Feed stream is credible problem.

Regards,

Nikolay

#3 Pilesar

Pilesar

Gold Member

• Members
  • 1,375 posts

Posted 23 March 2018 - 10:18 AM