Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Bubble And Dew Point Pressure Of A Mixture

27 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 chemical_teo

chemical_teo

• Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 25 September 2018 - 02:59 PM

Hi all, 

I am a new chemical engineering student and I've got an exercise that I don't really understand because it's very different from what I'm used to (no graphic is provided).

Butyl acetate (BA) is produced in the liquid phase of Acetic Acid (A) and Butanol (B). The extent of reaction is limited by the equilibrium constant since it's an esterification. 

An equimolar mixture of reactants (no products) at a flow rate of 100 kmol/h is fed to the flash at T = 389 K (constant) and p = 1 bar. The equilibrium constant is given to be K = 2.77 .  

I need to find the liquid composition, the butanol conversion at equilibrium and the dew point pressure of the mixture. All of this assuming no vapor phase (so a simple reactor). 

Concerning the butanol conversion, I think it's quite simple: K = x^2 / (0.5-x)^2 => x = 0.31 . Thus, there is still 0.18 of butanol  (31% has been converted). 

Concerning the liquid composition, I don't get the question. I know at this temperature water will be in the vapor phase but I don't have the boiling temperature of the rest. 

All the other informations I have are Antoine's parameters, enthalpies of formation (liq), enthalpies of vaporisation and heat capacities at constant pressure. 

Many thanks in advance for your kind help.

#2 MrShorty

MrShorty

Gold Member

• ChE Plus Subscriber
  • 517 posts

Posted 26 September 2018 - 09:34 AM