Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Ethylene Storage - Ldpe Plant

2 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 RicardoPT

RicardoPT

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 1 posts

Posted 03 October 2020 - 06:33 AM

Hello, I'm a master chemical engineering student from Portugal and i'm taking a course that consists on doing a low density polyethylene factory engineering design ( flowsheet, mass and energy balance, etc) and i came across some questions, mainly on the ethylene storage:

1) Which tank should i choose to storage liquefied ethylene, taking into account that LDPE production is 400kt/year? I know that ethylene is mainly stored in three types of tanks: bullet cylindrical, sphere and fixed roof tank at atmospheric pressure, but which one is the most suitable and the easiest for such high capacity needs?

2) I'm assuming that the ethylene transportion to the factory is via pipeline from a close-by cracker, but which are the pressure and temperature of such transportation by pipeline? 

3) Should i do purification steps to the ethylene? I know that for polymerization, the ethylene specifications are very tight, like for example 2ppm of water and 5 ppm of oxygen, but should i assume that the ethylene from the foreign cracker fulfill this specifications, or should i add some purification steps, and which?

Thank you.

Edited by RicardoPT, 03 October 2020 - 06:33 AM.

#2 Bobby Strain

Bobby Strain

Gold Member

• Members
  • 3,529 posts

Posted 03 October 2020 - 08:54 AM

Too bad that you must waste your valuable time with such an effort. This sort of thing does not belong in the ChE academic program.