Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Is A Psv A Type Of Safety Valve?

psv safety valves prd industry

11 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 JuanJL01

JuanJL01

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 September 2023 - 09:26 AM

Good morning, my name is Juan and I am a student of Chemical Engineering in Venezuela.

I have a doubt about PSV valves, because I have found books where they are classified as a type of safety valve, and others where they simply give that acronym to safety valves in general.

So, my question would be: Are PSV valves a type of safety valve? 

#2 latexman

latexman

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 1,690 posts

Posted 05 September 2023 - 09:36 AM

PSV = Pressure Safety Valve, so yes, a PSV is a type of safety valve.

#3 JuanJL01

JuanJL01

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 05 September 2023 - 10:04 AM

PSV = Pressure Safety Valve, so yes, a PSV is a type of safety valve.

Ok, so from what I understand there is a wide variety of safety valves and PSVs are one type within that variety. 

What I don't understand is why, when looking for information on PSVs, many articles, books, white papers, tend to refer to them simply as safety valves.  For example in spirax sarco, they have a whole article on safety valves and at no point do they mention PSVs, they mention the different types of safety valves but they never mention PSVs. 

And like spirax sarco, there are many companies like Leser, Besa, etc. that do the same.  

#4 latexman

latexman

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 1,690 posts

Posted 05 September 2023 - 10:26 AM

What I don't understand is why