Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Waste Heat Boiler Design

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
16 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 heisenberg

heisenberg

• Members
  • 14 posts

Posted 10 February 2008 - 08:56 PM

Hi all

I am a student of 3rd year of Chemical Engineering. I have been asked to design a waste heat boiler present in a previous process design. The process was HCN by BMA process (Degussa). Well the waste heat boiler that I need to design is located just after the catalytic reactor, the process gases leave the reactor at a temperature of 1250oC and pressure of 2.06 bara and then enter the waste heat boiler. The gases leave the w.h.b at 300oC and a maximum pressure of 1.85 bara.

The gases leaving the reactor are mainly HCN, Ammonia, Hydrogen and methane. The flow rate of the gases is 2333.4 kg/h (most of it is HCN with a flow rate of 1723.1 kg/h)

The steam required from the waste heat boiler is at the follow conditions:

Pressure: 40 bara
Temperature: 280oC

The boiler feed water is taken from the utilities manager at a temperature of 105oC and a pressure of 41 bara.

I was wondering if you can give me ideas how can i tackle the design of the w.h.b.

What are the basic stages in desgin and what books or journals do I need to read.

Well all suggestions are welcome as this is my first design and I will appreciate any help from people with experience in this field

Thanks

#2 Art Montemayor

Art Montemayor

Gold Member

• Admin
  • 5,780 posts

Posted 11 February 2008 - 09:19 AM

Heisenberg: