Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Stock Tank

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
7 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 furio

furio

• Members
  • 18 posts

Posted 26 September 2008 - 06:31 AM

Hi all, I'm a process engineer new in oil & gas engineering and this is my first stock tank design.

I'm working on a crude oil test separation train (capacity 20000 bpd) constituted by a first stage separator operating at 500 psig, a second stage separator operating at 70 psig and an atmospheric tank that constitutes the final stage of separation. The flashing gas in the tank is about 1000 Nm3/h and the operating temperature ranges between 25°C and 80°C. The oil that feeds the tank has a flash point of 44-54 °C.

1) The Client asks to vent to atmosphere the gas released from the tank. I think that I have to manage this tank in the same way as the other separators for which the gas released is flared. What’s your opinion about this point?

2) I think that the test bank working is discontinuous: when the system is in operation, the released gas flows to the flare and the tank is filling with liquid. When the system stops, the pump empties the tank and the oil is sent to the production bank. I’m not sure about the correct arrangement of the tank. I think that the better choice, in my case, is the arrangement that Art Montemayor in his Workbook calls “Standard Arrangement B” where it'is foreseen a blanketing with N2 (but I would use fuel gas, the only gas available, I think!), a back pressure regulator on the outlet of the gas and a pressure relief (for emergency). What’s your opinion?

Thank you very much.

#2 furio

furio

• Members
  • 18 posts