Featured Articles

Check out the latest featured articles.

File Library

Check out the latest downloads available in the File Library.

New Article

Product Viscosity vs. Shear

Featured File

Vertical Tank Selection

New Blog Entry

Low Flow in Pipes- posted in Ankur's blog

Trying To Verify Current Relief Valve Calculations

This topic has been archived. This means that you cannot reply to this topic.
9 replies to this topic
Share this topic:
| More

#1 precog1906

precog1906

Brand New Member

• Members
  • 5 posts

Posted 24 January 2009 - 08:20 PM

Hello All-

First I would like to say that I have been very impressed with this site, and I wish that I would have found it sooner. My current problem:

I have been tasked with verifying the calculations that another engineer performed on relief valves in our plant to make sure that they were correct. As a new engineer I assume everything is wrong until I can verify it directly, but this is giving me some problems.

The table gives the following data but is incomplete: Process Pressure, Process Capacity, Relief Pressure, and Relief Capacity. For the example below the

Process Pressure =45
Process Capacity=
Relief Pressure=50psig
Relief Capacity=4398

For one of the valves for example he has :
Safety Relief of Stripper Preheater rated for a capacity of 4398lb/hr

He then calculates the total pipe equivalent (including all elbows and tees)

Using the formula for Pressure Drop which is Delta P =(Lvgm^2)/(0.08D^5) where Delta P is pressure drop=13.8 bar, L is length of pipe=35.7m, vg is specific volume of steam=.186m^3/kg, m is mass flowrate, and D is Pipe diameter=50.8mm. Solving for mass flow rate we have 2770lb/hr Therefore a flow of 2800lb/hr would encounter enough friction to completely dissipate 200psia of pressure

My question is should the calculation be more involved? When does pipe equivalents need to be calculated?

I know this was pretty lengthy, but any advice will be grateful. Thanks

Looking for "Relief"